Accredited Fellowship Programs

The American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM) began accrediting behavioral sleep medicine training programs in 2005 but has since transitioned the accreditation program to the Society of Behavioral Sleep Medicine (SBSM). Accredited training programs promote excellence in the treatment of sleep disorders through behavioral and cognitive methods. They also provide the training required to sit for the Behavioral Sleep Medicine Exam that is administered by the American Board of Sleep Medicine (ABSM).

Training consists of 1,000 hours of supervised clinical training in behavioral sleep medicine, or 500 hours in behavioral sleep medicine and 500 hours in general behavioral medicine. The training period cannot exceed four years.

The following behavioral sleep medicine training programs (alphabetical order) have earned accreditation from the AASM. Contact these programs directly to find out about their requirements for enrollment:

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania/Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
Penn Sleep Centers

3624 Market Street | Philadelphia, PA 19104
Program Directors: Jodi Mindell, PhD & Philip Gehrman, PhD
Phone: 215-746-3578
Email: gehrman@mail.med.upenn.edu
Website: http://www.med.upenn.edu/sleepctr/Education.shtml#BSM

Johns Hopkins University
Behavioral Sleep Medicine Postdoctoral Fellowship
5510 Nathan Shock Dr, Behavioral Biology bldg, Suite 100 | Baltimore, MD 21224
Program Director: Michael T. Smith, PhD
Phone: (410) 550-7000 | Fax: (410) 550-0117
Email: msmith62@jhmi.edu
Website: www.sleeplessinbaltimore.com

Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Abbott Hall, 5th Floor, 710 N Lake Shore Dr | Chicago, IL 60611
Program Director: Kelly Glazer Baron, PhD, MPH
Phone: 312-503-1526 | Fax: 312-503-5679
Email:  k-baron@northwestern.edu
Website: http://www.feinberg.northwestern.edu/sleep/

Stanford University School of Medicine Sleep Medicine Center
450 Broadway St., M/C 5704 | Stanford, CA 94063
Program Directors: Rachel Manber, PhD & Allison Siebern, PhD
Phone: 650-721-7558
Email: asiebern@stanford.edurmanber@stanford.edu

University of Alabama
Department of Psychology

Box 870348 | Tuscaloosa, AL 35487
Program Director: Kenneth Lichstein, PhD
Phone: (205) 348-4962
Email: lichstein@ua.edu

University of Michigan
University of Michigan Sleep Disorders Center

1500 East Medical Center Drive | Med Inn C728 | Ann Arbor, MI 48109-5845
Program Directors: J. Todd Arnedt, PhD & Deirdre A. Conroy, PhD
Phone: 734-764-1234 | Fax: 734-764-1229
Email: tarnedt@med.umich.edu

University of North Texas
Department of Psychology

PO Box 311280 | Denton, TX 76203-1280
Program Director: Daniel J. Taylor, PhD
Phone: 940-565-4682
Email: djtaylor@unt.edu
Website: http://www.psyc.unt.edu/sleeplab/UNTSHRL_BSMtrng.htm

University of Pittsburgh/Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic
3811 O'Hara Street | Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Program Directors: Brant Hasler, PhD & Dan Buysse, MD
Phone: 412-246-5537 | Fax: 412-246-5300
Email: haslerbp@upmc.edu
Website: http://www.sleep.pitt.edu

University of Rochester
Sleep and Neurophysiology Research Laboratory

University of Rochester
300 Crittenden Blvd | Rochester, NY 14642
Program Director: Wilfred Pigeon, PhD
Phone: 585-275-3374
Email: wilfred-pigeon@urmc.rochester.edu 

Rush University Medical Center
Sleep Disorders Center

Rush University Medical Center
1653 West Congress Parkway | Chicago, IL 60612-3833
Program Director: Jason Ong, PhD
Phone: 312-942-5440
Email: jason_ong@rush.edu
Website: http://www.rush.edu/rumc/page-1099918804001.html 

Wilford Hall Medical Center
59 MHS/SGOWN | Lackland Air Force Base
San Antonio, TX 78236-5000
Program Director: Lt Col. Ann S. Hryshko-Mullen, PhD
Phone: 210-292-5968
Email: ann.hryshko-mullen@lackland.af.mil

Contact the SBSM national office for more information about accredited behavioral sleep medicine training programs. Phone: 630-737-9700.