Society of Behavioral Sleep Medicine Board of Directors

Executive Committee

JASON ONG, PHD, CBSM 
PRESIDENT (2017-2018)

Associate Professor
Department of Neurology
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Abbott Hall, Room 1114
710 North Lake Shore Drive
Chicago, IL 60611
Office: 312-503- 6612
jason.ong@northwestern.edu 

Michael Schmitz, PsyD, LP, CDSM
IMMEDIATE Past President (2016-2017)

Michael Schmitz, PsyD, LP, CBSM
Director, Behavioral Sleep Medicine Services
Fairview Sleep Medicine - Fairview Health Services
Riverside Professional Building
606 24th Avenue South, Suite 106
Minneapolis, MN 55454
michaelschmitzpsyd@gmail.com

Donna Arand, PhD 
President ELECT

Sycamore Sleep Disorders Center
400 Miamisburg-Centerville Rd
Miamisburg, OH 45342
937-384-4820
donna.arand@khnetwork.org

Board Liaison:
Accreditation Committee

KELLY GLAZER BARON, PHD, MPH, CBSM 
SECRETARY/TREASURER (2015-2018)

Department of Behavioral Sciences
Rush University Medical Center
1653 W. Congress Parkway
Chicago, IL 60612-3833
Office: 312-942- 0566
Fax: 312-942- 8961
kelly_Baron@rush.edu

  

Board of Directors

Kenneth Lichstein, PhD, CBSM 
Director At Large (2017 – 2020)
University of Alabama
934 Germantown Rd
Tuscaloosa, AL 35406
205-535- 0503
lichstein@ua.edu

Board Liaison: Credentials Committee

Sara Nowakowski, PhD
Director At Large (2016-2019)
The University of Texas Medical Branch
301 University Blvd.
Galveston, TX 77555
409-772-3996 
sanowako@utmb.edu

Board Liaison: Membership Committee

Michael Grandner, PhD 
Director At large (2016-2019)
Director, Sleep and Health Research Program
Assistant Professor - Department of Psychiatry University of Arizona
1501 N. Campbell Avenue
AHSC Room 7326A
PO Box 245002
Tucson, AZ 85724-5002
grandner@gmail.com

Board Liaison: Web and Communications Committee

Richard Blackburn, PhD, CBSM
(2015-2018)
Director At Large
Regions Sleep Health Center
2688 Maplewood Drive
Maplewood, MN 55109
651-254-8152 
Richard.A.Blackburn@HealthPartners.com

Board Liaison:  Practice Committee

Celso Teixeira, MA 
Director At Large (2016-2019)
342B Park Ave. Apt. 4E
Glencoe, IL 60022
401-441-2451
cteixeira@my.adler.edu

Board Liaison: Education Committee

Karlyn Vatthauer MS,
Student Member (2017-2018)
2301 Calmont Drive
Arlington, TX 76001
817-360- 9722
Karlyn.vatthauer@gmail.com